Newswest 9 | Midland, Texas | newswest9.com

ECISD Board selects new superintendent of schools, 3 new campus principals

Dr. Muri becomes the 16th ECISD superintendent of schools.
(Source: Ector County ISD)

ODESSA, Texas — During their Tuesday night meeting, the Ector County Independent School District Board of Trustees voted seven to zero to approve Dr. Scott Muri as the new superintendent of schools. 

Dr. Muri will be the 16th ECISD superintendent of schools, with a contract for five years.

The contract includes a salary of $295,000, $1,000 per month car allowance, $3,000 one-time technology stipend this summer, $300 per month technology allowance, contributions to health insurance, life insurance, and long-term care insurance.

His relocation agreement is for moving expenses reimbursed with receipts, and up to $3,500 housing allowing until a house is obtained or 12 months pass. 

Dr. Muri’s official start date is July 1, 2019.

Trustees also voted to extend Jim Nelson’s contract as interim superintendent through the end of June, to help the district with this transition.

In addition to Dr. Muri, The board elected three new campus principals for Cavazos Elementary, Travis Elementary and Bonham Middle School. 

The elected officials, in order, are Amanda Montelongo, currently the assistant principal of DeZevala Elementary, Amy Russell, currently the instructional services director at Bonham, and Mitch Gerig, currently the associate principal at Ector Middle.

For a full recap of the night's meeting, visit www.ectorcountyisd.org.