Governor Perry Issues Disaster Declaration Ahead of Edouard

UNDATED (AP) - Governor Rick Perry today announced a disaster declaration for 17 counties that could be impacted by Tropical Storm Edouard.

The declaration is for Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Calhoun, Chambers, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Orange, Walker and Wharton counties.

It's preparation for Edouard, which forecasters say could make landfall by tomorrow on the upper Texas coast, centering on Galveston and Brazoria counties.

Perry has activated and mobilized up to 1,200 National Guard troops, a 70-member rescue team, plus six helicopters.  About 200 buses would be available in San Antonio and Houston to help in evacuations.

Also, the Texas prison system won't accept new inmates from county jails tomorrow.  About 260 miles down the coast from Galveston, South Padre Island continues recovery efforts from Hurricane Dolly -- which made landfall July 23rd.

Storm Tracker9 is closely tracking Edouard and its potential impact on the Texas coast and West Texas. Stay with NewsWest9 and for the latest information.