Martin County Issues Disaster Declaration

Staff Report
NewsWest 9

MARTIN COUNTY - Add Martin County to the list of West Texas Counties that won't allow fireworks this 4th of July.

On Friday morning, Governor Rick Perry agreed to extend their disaster declaration through Independence Day.

Terrell County is still waiting to hear back from the Govenor's Office.

As for Howard County, the County Judge made their declaration on Thursday.

The Governor's Office has told them to work something out with fireworks vendors.

If they can't come to an agreement, then the Govenor's Office may get involved.