Eleven more counties added to federal disaster area list

WASHINGTON (AP) - Eleven more Texas counties are eligible for government storm-related assistance after being declared federal disaster areas.

The designation was announced late today by U-S Senators Kay Bailey Hutchison and John Cornyn.

That makes 17 Texas counties with federal disaster status in the wake of deadly storms and flooding going back to mid-June.

The eleven counties added to the list are: Archer, Bell, Burnet, Eastland, Hood, Parker, Starr, Victoria, Webb, Wichita, and Williamson.

They join Cooke, Coryell, Denton, Grayson, Lampasas and Tarrant on the federal disaster list.

Individual assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, plus loans.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says damage surveys are continuing in other parts of Texas.