New Dawson Co. Sheriff sworn-in

New Dawson Co. Sheriff sworn-in
Sheriff Matt Hogg (Source: Dawson Co. Sheriff's Office)

DAWSON COUNTY, TX (KWES) - Dawson County swore in a new Sheriff this week, over three months earlier than anticipated.

Matt Hogg was sworn in as Sheriff Wednesday morning following the sudden resignation of Kent Parchman.

Parchman says he resigned to qualify for retirement benefits before becoming the constable at the start of 2017.

Sheriff Hogg won the Republican Primary race back in March and was set to be the only candidate on the ballot in November.

Copyright 2016 KWES. All rights reserved.