Feds Celebrate 'Major Victory' in Murder, Drug Ring, Firearms Case

Feds Celebrate 'Major Victory' in Murder, Drug Ring, Firearms Case

By: Julia Deng
NewsWest 9

MIDLAND - Guilty of all charges. A federal jury handed down their decision on Friday, nearly a year after a cross-border methamphetamine operation unraveled after a brutal killing in an Odessa alley.

Four people involved in the May 2014 kidnapping and shooting death of 22-year-old Sean Lamb were convicted of drug, firearm and murder charges.

Raymond Hernandez Olgin, Jr., Rudolfo Romero Parades, Stacey Louise Castillo and Anthony Ryan Gonzales were each found guilty of conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute a controlled substance, possession of a firearm in relation to a drug trafficking crime and murder during the course of a drug trafficking crime.

Sentencing is scheduled for June 25.

Assistant United States Attorney Bill Lewis, who prosecuted the case alongside John Klassen, called the guilty verdicts a "major victory" for the government.

He said each of the four defendants faced maximum sentences of 20 years in federal prison for the drug offense, 7 years for the gun charge and life behind bars for murder.

"Each defendant was responsible for the death of Sean Lamb as a result of... drug trafficking," Lewis told NewsWest 9. "All four defendants were equally involved [and] equally participated in the offense."

He said Olgin, Parades, Castillo and Gonzales would likely be sentenced to the same amount of prison time.

Their attorneys could not be reached for comment.

Authorities are still seeking two fugitives connected to the drug ring and Lamb's murder.

According to Lewis, Noe Galan and Ruben Hernandez are believed to have fled to Mexico.

"We are actively... trying to extradite them so that they can have their day in court," he said.

Lewis does not believe additional people are involved in the meth operation.

The investigation was conducted by the Odessa Police Department and the FBI, with assistance from Homeland Security, the Texas Department of Public Safety, Texas Rangers and Border Patrol.