Six Border Patrol Stations Closing in Texas

Staff Report
NewsWest 9

Nine Border Patrol stations nationwide will be closing their offices and six of those are in Texas.

Three of those stations are in West Texas.

Those locations include Abilene, San Angelo and Lubbock.

The move comes after the federal agency decided it would be more efficient to move their resources closer to the border.

41 agents will relocate there at existing stations.

The changes are expected to take place within the next six months.

U.S. Customs officials predict closing the nine posts will save more than a million dollars a year.

Other stations in Texas affected are Amarillo, Dallas and San Antonio.