Fireworks Banned in Several West Texas Counties for New Year’s

Staff Report
NewsWest 9

Parts of West Texas skies will be lit up with fireworks this year but that's not the case for the majority.

The following counties are allowing fireworks this year: Howard, Reeves and Ector County.

However, in Howard and Reeves County, there is a stipulation to popping those fireworks.

You can't use fireworks that can travel long distances, like rockets with fins or sticks, along with bottle rockets.

In Ector County, you're allowed to pop off whatever you want.

Counties that have fireworks banned include: Midland, Martin, Andrews, Crane and Ward County.

If you fire off any fireworks in any of those counties, be ready to pay a hefty fine.