Fireworks Banned in Brewster and Andrews County

Staff Report
NewsWest 9

ANDREWS/BREWSTER COUNTY - Fourth of July in Brewster and Andrews Counties will not go off with a bang this year.

Governor Rick Perry signed a long term disaster declaration for both counties.

It would include banning the use and sale of fireworks.

The proclamation is good for a month lasting from now until July 5.

Due to a lack of rain and extremely dry conditions officials believe this is the best step to prevent accidental wildfires.